The Morning Benders/Edward Sharpe


What a wonderful musical week. New bands, new loves. I found out, a little late about two incredible bands which I fell in love with right away. Better late than never huh, that’s what they say.

Numero uno : Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros arrived in my life with great strenght to hit me across the face. I discovered them while taking a look at our fellow bloggers’ recent activities. Seamstress For The Band always have such beautiful songs on their blog and that’s where I found out about Edward Sharpe.

Home – Edward Sharpe & The Magnetic Zeros

“After breaking up with his girlfriend, moving out of his house, and joining a 12-step program for addiction, Ebert began work on a story about a messianic figure named Edward Sharpe. According to Ebert, Sharpe “was sent down to Earth to kinda heal and save mankind…but he kept getting distracted by girls and falling in love.” Ebert later met singer Jade Castrinos in Los Angeles. In the summer of 2009, as Edward Sharpe & the Magnetic Zeros, Ebert and Castrinos toured the country with a group of fellow musicians in a big white school bus”. Ain’t this a beautiful story… It is when such a wonderful band ensues.

Brother – Edward Sharpe & The Magnetic Zeros

NOW, the feature presentation : The Morning Benders. I discovered this band on a “blog” that I visit pretty frequently because of its RICH content and magnificient gallery of “take away shows”. They were talking about a session they had with The Morning Benders and how extraordinary it was and shit. SO, I went on youtube to see for myself who thosem orning benders were. God… I was…. surprised, greatly surprised.

Here’s the song from the album for those who, like me, couldn’t believe their ears : Excuses – The Morning Benders

Their second album Big Echo was released this year and is full of surprises. This band is like a kind of magic. This way of mixing voices has always reached me, deeply. The whole album isn’t as good as the video I found, but there are some beautiful songs. “The band has toured in support of Broken Bells, Grizzly Bear, The Kooks and Death Cab for Cutie, Ra Ra Riot, and has also played with Yo La Tengo, MGMT, Grand Archives, Yeasayer, Two Gallants, The Rosebuds, Au Revoir Simone, We Are Scientists, and White Rabbits. They also toured with The Submarines.” WHAAAAAT !?!

Sleeping In – The Morning Benders

And now a little word on La Blogothèque. Won’t be long, just to tell ALL OF YOU GUYS who take the time to read us. Go check it out, it’s MORE that worth it. Hundreds of shows from incredible bands that we all love. Their concept is just awesome.

Here is what they sent us all while we are waiting for The Morning Benders’ session.

