Fistful of Mercy


Some of you may have noticed I’ve posted some of Joseph Arthur’s work in various playlists in the past, and those who know me personally know that I have great respect and admiration for his work. I must have been to about 10 shows of his in Montreal, admired his paintings, songwritting ability, amazing voice, and instrumental talent since I’m 14 years old, and consider him to be the only true artist I’ve been exposed to.

This guy has art come out of his pores; art is his lifestyle, he never takes breaks (to this day he has 7 albums and 11 EPs out), and can produce pretty much anything on the spot. To prove this to himself, he was in Montreal for 10 days straight this summer during the International Jazz Festival, and mixed old & new, tested new slam, and painted on stage while singing. He was even exposing his work at an art gallery in the Old Port during his stay. Busy guy!


What I’ve been leading up to, is that out of pure awesomeness sent by God herself, he decided to partner up with another of my favorites, Ben Harper, and another talented artist Dhani Harrison, to form Fistful of Mercy, probably the most promising new formation I’ve witnessed!

  • Here are more links for Fistful of Mercy

Fistful of Mercy – Official Website

Fistful of Mercy – Myspace

Fistful of Mercy – Vimeo

Fistful of Mercy – Facebook Page

&

Joseph Arthur – Facebook Page

Ben Harper – Facebook Page

Dhani Harrison – Facebook Page

  • By the way, if some of you dont’t know Ben Harper, this might ring a bell; he plays the version of Strawberry Fields Forever (The Beatles) in the 2001 movie I Am Sam.

Strawberry Fields Forever (Ben Harper)

As for Dhani Harrison, I didn’t have any knowledge of him at all, and after a bit of research, I found out he was with the band thenewno2, a band who, I feel, has a liking for touring! They’ve been opening for Wolfmother, and music festivals like Coachella & Lollapalooza. His mini bio from Wikipedia surprised me in the best possible way!

Dhani Harrison (born 1 August 1978) is an English musician and the son of George [and Olivia Harrison] (as in The Beatles George Harrison, oui oui!) . Harrison debuted as a professional musician when completing his father’s final album Brainwashed after George Harrison’s death in November 2001. Harrison formed his own band, thenewno2, in 2006.

Harrison’s first name is pronounced similarly to the name Danny but with an aspirated ‘d’. He is named after 6th and 7th notes of the Indian music scale, ‘dha’ and ‘ni’. Harrison’s name traditionally is pronounced, “Dhaa-Knee”.

So thats it! Come back for updating, if these guys are insane individually, imagine what they’re capable of together.

